Blog Post #1

As my wife and I were getting ready for bed, I was talking about the IRA that my work offers. As usual, her eyes started to glaze over and then she said “STOP! All you do is talk about money and I want to talk about something else”. To be fair she may be right… I was that kid in middle school who had a budget and planned to save my money to buy the new Pokemon Stadium game for the N64 instead of buying candy or something dumb.

511GPJ39TGL._SX466_

The most important thing when I was ten

My wife asked me what I talked about with my friend earlier that day (after she told me to stop talking about an IRA). I told her “we talked about stocks and bonds!” She rolled her eyes and said, “did you get him to talk about it or did he ask?” I may have started that conversation… and maybe talked the whole time as well….. I just really enjoy talking about finances and learning as much as I can about it. Then when I learn something new I want to share it with everyone!

 

14633096_10209131588664358_9049847971585971356_n

My very patient wife and me

I woke up the next morning thinking about the conversation we had and realizing, I really do enjoy learning and talking about money. My hope is to make this a blog and a community where people can talk, learn, share and teach about money and finance. I really want to see how other people have made money work for them and hear their stories. Please comment on this post and future ones with your stories and how you succeeded or failed, I can talk all day (ask my family) but I want to hear other peoples stories so that we can all be inspired to make changes in our lives.

One of my main goals in life is to teach as many people as I can about finances and let them know it is not scary or hard. I think a lot of people have a misconception that people don’t want you to learn about finance. In reality, the more the general public knows about money and how to use it right the better off we can be as a society (just have to beware of greed, that is a whole other topic though).

If you do have a story that you want to share you can also email them to me at themoneystory@gmail.com and I may use your story to try and teach others how to understand how finance works.

Next week, I will talk about how my mom taught me and my siblings about personal finance using monopoly money and how I may have become a loan shark…

*Disclaimer: I do not know as much about finance as Dave Ramsey but I do think I am funnier than him. I  want to get people more excited to learn about money and not be afraid to look at their finances.

2 thoughts on “Blog Post #1

  1. wlovell92

    Very exciting. I plan to follow this religiously. Well written too. You know I appreciate that.

    Ugh, a little embarrassing to admit to the world but it’s bound to get out anyway: I am terrible with finances.

    What would you recommend as a simple way to start off budgeting? If you want me to email you plenty of failure stories, I certainly can.

    Like

    Reply
    1. themoneystory Post author

      You are not alone! A large part of the population doesn’t know much about personal finances and its not there fault. No one every teaches you so how could you know. I will try to write a little about budgeting on my next post. However, until then check out the app Mint and Personal Cap.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment